Skip to the content

Your Welsh Baccalaureate journey starts here ….

The central focus of the Welsh Baccalaureate at Key Stage 4 is to enable pupils to develop and demonstrate their understanding of, and abilities in, essential and employability skills. These are the skills that employers and next-stage educators (e.g. colleges or apprenticeship schemes) value and which pupils need for learning, work and life.

Offering a learning experience relevant to the needs and demands of the workplace will develop pupils’ confidence, drive and initiative, preparing them to enter, succeed, and progress in the world of work.

The seven essential and employability skills are:

  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Digital Literacy
  • Critical Thinking and Problem Solving
  • Planning and Organisation
  • Creativity and Innovation
  • Personal Effectiveness

Through the Welsh Baccalaureate pupils will raise their skills levels and confidence, enabling and empowering them to take their place as responsible and active citizens within a diverse society.

Alongside and through the development of skills, the Welsh Baccalaureate provides pupils with the opportunity to develop their knowledge and understanding of society, the community in which they live, and an awareness of global issues, events and perspectives.

Structure of the Qualification: The Skills Challenge Certificate

The Welsh Baccalaureate is based on a Skills Challenge Certificate that pupils will complete alongside their other Key Stage 4 Option choices.

The Skills Challenge Certificate consists of four components, all of which are control assessed; there is no exam:

Skills Challenge Certificate components


Assessed Skills

Individual Project



Planning and Organisation

Critical Thinking and Problem Solving

Digital Literacy

Enterprise and Employability Challenge



Creativity and Innovation

Personal Effectiveness

Digital Literacy

Global Citizenship Challenge



Critical Thinking and Problem Solving

Creativity and Innovation

Community Challenge


Planning and Organisation

Personal Effectiveness


Key Stage 4 Option Choices: the Supporting Qualifications

In order to achieve the full Welsh Baccalaureate Qualification, pupils must also pass the following GCSE subjects:

  • English Language / Welsh 1st language,
  • Mathematics,
  • A further three GCSEs are also required from any subject area.

To achieve the National Welsh Baccalaureate, pupils must achieve the above requirements at grades A*-C.

To achieve the Foundation Welsh Baccalaureate, pupils must achieve the above requirements at grades A*-G.


How you can help

  • Encourage your child to discuss the Challenges they are learning about,
  • Make links between the 7 essential and employability skills to everyday life,
  • Encourage your child to think critically about the news they hear, or articles they may see online;

Need to Talk?

Get in touch with us...